ACU Western 2020 Trials Championship

Page Index: Current Points, Rounds, Rules.

Update 28Aug2020: The decision has been made to cancel the Championship for the rest of 2020 as restrictions cause too many problems when we already have so many more rules to follow and get used to. Hopefully we can plan for 2021.

The following details were what we had planned before Covid19.

The 2020 Awards presentation will not now be announced nearer the end of the year.

Previous Year's Winners

Table of Current Championship Points

A Printable version of the Points Standing is now linked here.

You will see some added Notes for some Contenders - Here is a key to the notes:

Click the class bars below to expand the listing.

Expert Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Thomas Culliford20            20 20120
Lee Hassall17            17 17217
Martin Podesta15            15 15315
John Luff13            13 13413
Joe Bendall11            11 11511
Leo Rochfort10            10 10610
Tom Hinckley9            9 979
Finley Belcher8            8 888
Nathan Pekala7            7 797
Club/Expert Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Dean Basford20            20 20120
Ben Wilmore17            17 17217
Richard Jenkins15            15 15315
Hugh Benson13            13 13413
Nathan Basford11            11 11511
Amory Falconer10            10 10610
Steve Limb9            9 979
Aaron Frost8            8 888
Ronan Boulton7            7 797
Clubman Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Richard Elliott20            20 20120
John Roberts17            17 17217
Martyn Wilmore15            15 15315
Russell Benson13            13 13413
Stuart Thatcher11            11 11511
John Jones10            10 10610
Rob Maller9            9 979
Kevin Miller8            8 888
Dean Hassall7            7 797
Steven Thompson6            6 6106
John Wilkey5            5 5115
Lee Beaman4            4 4124
Carl Mapes3            3 3133
Jay Beard2            2 2142
Matthew Hanney1            1 1151
Sports+ Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Paul Howells20            20 20020
John Limb0            0 000*3
Over 50 Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Tim Wheeler20            20 20120
Mervyn Walker17            17 17217
Simon Legg15            15 15315
Micky Root13            13 13413
Stewart Lynch11            11 11511
Dave Hammond10            10 10610
Steven Reece9            9 979
Roger Bewley8            8 888
Adrian Gwynne7            7 797
Sportsman Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Nigel Tomkins20            20 20120
Alf Bendall17            17 17217
Trudi Silvey15            15 15315
Fran Hamer13            13 13413
Peter Hughes11            11 11511
Phillip Smith10            10 10610
Marcus Stanton-Tyzack9            9 979
Ian Thompson8            8 888
Andrew Luff7            7 797
Mark Tyzack6            6 6106
Youth A Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Reece Legg20            20 20120
Rhys Davies17            17 17217
Danny Laverton15            15 15315
Jessica Basford13            13 13413
Youth B Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Iwan Davies20            20 20120
Youth C Route Championship
Rider123456789101112TotBest 11 TotPosAvgNotes
Aaron Watson20            20 20120

As this is the third year with this set of rules there are implications for the 2019 and 2018 winners of each adult class. 2019 and 2018 Winners must ride up a route if they are to gain points. The exceptions are, of course, Experts, who can't get any higher, and Over 50's who are allowed to remain on the Sports Plus route. Winners can stay on the same route but will be ineligible for points.

For more info contact the Trials recorder by email:

The Rounds:

  1. Stroud Valley - Bill Peters Trial 16/02
  2. Cheltenham Home Guard - John Draper Memorial Trial 19/04
  3. Glos and Cotswold - Smith Trial 10/05
  4. Zona 1 - Dennis Saunders Trial 17/05
  5. Wye Valley - Stan Hinsley Trial 31/05
  6. Malvern - Bodenham Trial 07/06
  7. Glos and Cotswold - Drake and Gibb Trial 09/08
  8. Zona 1 - Trial 13/09
  9. West Glos - Stony Green Trial 20/09
  10. Wye Valley - John Langford Trial 27/09
  11. Stroud Valley - Stroud Solo/Woolridge Trial 04/10
  12. ACU Western - Brian Valder Memorial/Charity Trial 13/12

All rounds run at end of series less one to count. If a round is cancelled after rounds have been finalised then the championship will run all rounds run less one to count. Dates fixed in January, if a round is cancelled it can not be run on a new date.

The Rules

The Routes and Classes

Note: Class Numbers - Some results sheets may be tight for space and classes may be abbreviated to the numbers declared on the entry form so here is a quick cross reference.

1 - Open, 2 - Over 50, 3 - Youth A, 4 - Youth B, 5 - Youth C, 6 - Youth D, 7 - Youth E.

Note: We have amended the explanatory table for where you can and can't score points for clarity. There is no real change as CofC's have always been able to identify routes suitable or unsuitable for some Youth groups.

Riders, look for class you want to/should ride in along the top of the columns
Championship Classes
Routes Exp C/E Clb S+ >50 Sp Y/A Y/B Y/C Y/D Y/E Notes
Expert x           x x       Experts can't exactly move up a route if they win!
Clubman/Expertoxn    xx    
Clubman oxn   xx    
Sports+  oxnxn xxx   
Sportsman   ooxnxxx   
Conducted Hard         xx Rounds to be identified with Regs.
Conducted Standard         xxRounds to be identified with Regs.
Key to codes: x Points can be gained in this combination (Youth riders may not be eligible for more difficult routes, Reg's will say. This is a CofC's choice.)
n No Points can be gained if you've been a winner of this class within previous 2 years (unless >50 as you don't have to move up a route!) You will get points for the next route if you move up a route, of course.
o Can ride this route for no points (Riding down a level while injured etc.)
info Points can be gained if riding up a route by choice as long as remain on that route all year - Or, Ride up a route for no points. (Possibly only the higher route's points should be allowed as otherwise could be pot-hunting!) Only one selected route eligible per year ie no dodging routes to cherry-pick.

Some rounds may not include Sportmans plus, Sportsman or Conducted Routes, please check event regulations to confirm.

Winners of a championship class will move up a route for the next year, or ride as no award for the next two years.

Method of Marking

The Championship will be held under TSR22B - Non Stop.

Championship Points

Championship points will be awarded to the top 15 eligible finishers in each class at each round on the following scale:

Should a Tie occur it is to be resolved in accordance with TSR23A. Riders who score points in one championship class shall not be eligible for points in another championship class.

Championship Ties.

Should a tie occur in a Championship series it shall be decided as follows: